Rajesh Thakur is the new president of the Jharkhand Congress

Rajesh Thakur is the new president of the Jharkhand Congress

Congress Speaker Sonia Gandhi on Wednesday named Rajesh Thakur chairman of the Jharkhand unit, riddled with party factions, in addition to appointing four new acting presidents.

Thakur was one of the five active chairmen of the party in Jharkhand and will now replace the head of the state unit Rameshwar Oraon, who is also the finance minister in the Hemant Soren-led UPA government in the state.

“The party chairman also appointed MP Geeta Kora, legislator Bandhu Tirkey, Jaishankar Mahto and Shahzada Anwar as acting chairmen,” said a statement from the office of the general secretary (organization) KC Venugopal.

“The party appreciates the contributions of the outgoing chairman of the PCC, Dr. Rameshwar Oraon. The party also appreciates the contributions of outgoing labor presidents Kamlesh Mahto, Irfan Ansari, Manas Sinha and Sanjay Paswan, ”the statement added.

The demand for a new state unit chair had been furious with several MLAs in Congress openly demanding the resignation of the outgoing chairman from the party’s office on the one-man-per-job principle.

Several lawmakers, in groups, had been camping in New Delhi in recent months demanding a changing of the guard in the state.

Oroan, a former Union minister, was given command of the state unit months before the 2019 assembly elections, in which the JMM-Congress-RJD alliance seized power from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the elections of the December 2019 assembly.

READ  Pant sacking "not the reason" for India's defeat: Gavaskar points to a major flaw that led to the defeat of Johannesburg | Cricket

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Venezuela en fútbol